UB Athletics to Donate $5,000 to Buffalo City Schools

UB Athletics to Donate $5,000 to Buffalo City Schools

BUFFALO, NY – In partnership with the Mid-American Conference and the College Football Playoff Foundation, the University at Buffalo Athletic Department is donating $5,000 to Buffalo City Schools for the purchase of 7th and 8th grade physical education equipment. In addition, Buffalo City School teachers will be recognized during the Bulls' football game against Florida Atlantic on September 23.

The Mid-American Conference is providing funding for its entire 12-member institutions to establish a community-based program to continue to build positive relationships within each campus community.

During the 2017-18 academic year, the MAC is providing $60,000 -- $5,000 for each athletic program – for academic initiatives at elementary and/or secondary schools. This is the first year of the MAC's community program and will become an annual event.

"I am extremely pleased to see the diversity of community programs our athletic programs have partnered for this upcoming season," said MAC Commissioner, Dr. Jon A. Steinbrecher.  "Our students, coaches and athletic administrators support their campus communities with events throughout the year and this opportunity only enhances our support within each community."

The funding for the grant is provided through the MAC's partnership with the College Football Playoff Foundation.

Akron: Akron Athletics has partnered with McEbright Community Learning Center for a Reading with the Zips Program. Akron will provide a check to McEbright to purchase $5,000 worth of books for children to read over the summer so they do not fall behind while out of the classroom. A check presentation to McEbright will occur on Saturday, September 16.

Ball State: Six elementary schools and three secondary schools in the Muncie Community Schools will receive support for transportation and entrance fees to enjoy a field trip designed to provide students with experiences outside of the classroom. Also, the Muncie Area Career Center and Youth Opportunity Center will receive some funding for student incentives. Finally, the West View Elementary Dual Language Immersion Program will receive a portion of the funds to help build up this first-year program.

Bowling Green: The Falcons will use $1,000 to purchase sensory swings for two elementary schools to help support children with special needs. A $3,000 investment for purchasing new books for three local elementary schools to benefit all the children within the public-school community. Also, an enrichment program, PACE, will use $1,000 for a 3-D printer and accessories to assist with technology upgrades.

Buffalo:  The Buffalo Athletic program will be donating $5,000 to Buffalo City Schools for 7th and 8th grade physical education equipment. Buffalo City School teachers will be recognized during the Bulls' football game against Florida Atlantic on September 23.

Central Michigan: The Mount Pleasant Public Schools will use $5,000 to benefit sixth-grade education in the area of Next Generation Standards. This funding will allow the district to purchase supplies to continue hands-on education with 3-D modeling and makerspace models at Central Michigan University. Sixth-grade students will also be invited to the Nov. 8 home football game vs. Eastern Michigan.

Eastern Michigan: The $5,000 will go to Ypsilanti Community Schools for in-classroom supplies for middle school and elementary schools. Tickets will be provided to the home game on Sept. 23 against Ohio and participants will have a pre-game tailgate and enjoy the game while teachers and staff will be recognized on-field with a formal check presentation.

Kent State: The Kent City School District will receive the $5,000 funding to be spent towards Virtual Reality Mobile Classroom Technology. In addition, a recognition of teachers and educators will take place during the home football game on Thursday, Oct. 31 against Bowling Green.

Miami: The RedHawks will be using the $5,000 to support three elementary schools and one middle school in Oxford to purchase books for their libraries and classrooms.

NIU: The Huskies will be supporting both the DeKalb School District and the Sycamore School District with funding of $2,500 each. The DeKalb School District will support staff professional development training in relation to the district's Social Justice Plan. The Sycamore School District will purchase materials to aid student character development and meeting the social emotional standards, via a Bully Prevention Unit for K-5th grade teachers within each elementary school.

Ohio: Ohio will use the $5,000 to support four elementary schools and one middle school in the Athens City Schools. Funding will support the Lucy Calkins Leadership Academy for Principals, the Leveled Readers for Calkins Reading Program, a book room and for the middle school support for a new drama program.

Toledo: The Toledo Public schools will use the $5,000 to assist with tutoring expenses for student-athletes at two high schools to enhance their academics.  This support for academics will provide these students the opportunity to participate in athletics, help build leadership skills and prepare them for college or careers. Recognition of these participants will occur during the Rockets home football game on Saturday, Oct. 21 vs. Akron.

Western Michigan: Kalamazoo Public Schools will utilize the $5,000 to purchase diverse classroom reading sets for six classrooms at two elementary schools.  This support is consistent with the Broncos' already established support of the Reading Now Network and the Mirrors of Me Conference regarding diverse literature.


Founded in 1946, the Mid-American Conference is an NCAA Division I, 12-member conference that sponsors 23 championships and is one of 10 members of the Football Bowl Subdivison (FBS). With total enrollment of nearly 300,000 students, the league represents institutions of higher learning in five states - Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, New York, and Ohio.

Current MAC schools and the year they joined are -- East Division: University of Akron (1992), Bowling Green State University (1952), University at Buffalo (1998), Kent State University (1951), Miami University (1947), Ohio University (1946). West Division: Ball State University (1973), Central Michigan University (1971), Eastern Michigan University (1971), Northern Illinois University (1975-86, rejoined in 1997), University of Toledo (1950), Western Michigan University (1947). The conference office is based in Cleveland, Ohio.


The College Football Playoff (CFP) Foundation is the charitable arm of the College Football Playoff, supporting education across the country. The CFP Foundation's primary platform, Extra Yard for Teachers, elevates the teaching profession by inspiring and empowering teachers through the implementation of programs in four focus areas: resources, recognition, recruitment and professional development. The CFP Foundation utilizes multiple partnerships to execute its initiatives and support positive educational outcomes.