Khalil Mack Wins 2013 Jack Lambert Award

Khalil Mack Wins 2013 Jack Lambert Award

BUFFALO, NY – University at Buffalo linebacker Khalil Mack has been named the winner of the 2013 Jack Lambert Award, presented annually by The Touchdown Club of Columbus to college football's top linebacker. The award is named for Pro Football Hall of Famer and Kent State University defensive legend Jack Lambert, and has been received by current NFL stars Patrick Willis, James Laurinaitis, Johnathan Vilma, and last year's winner Jarvis Jones.

Mack, the 2013 Mid-American Conference Defensive Player of the Year and Butkus Award finalist, has 94 tackles and leads the conference in sacks with 10.5 and tackles for loss with 19. He has established NCAA career records for tackles for loss (75) and forced fumbles (16).  He has also intercepted a trio of passes and returned a pair for touchdowns this year.  

Mack has already been honored by the Touchdown Club of Columbus on two occasions as a Player To Watch for 2012 and 2013.  He is the first player from the MAC to win the Jack Lambert Award.

The 2013 Jack Lambert Award will be presented during the 59th Touchdown Club of Columbus Awards on Saturday, February 8, 2014 at The Lifestyle Communities Pavilion in Columbus, OH.

Jack Lambert Award Winners

2013 Khalil Mack Buffalo
2012 Jarvis Jones Georgia
2011 Luke Kuechly Boston College
2010 Von Miller Texas A&M
2009 Ronaldo McClain Alabama
2008 James Laurinaitis Ohio State
2007 James Laurinaitis Ohio State
2006 Patrick Willis Ole Miss
2005 A.J. Hawk Ohio State
2004 Derrick Johnson Texas
2003 Jonathan Vilma Miami (FL)
2002 E.J. Henderson Maryland
2001 Rocky Calmus Oklahoma
2000 Dan Morgan Miami (FL)
1999 LaVar Arrington Penn State
1998  Dat Nuygen Texas A&M
1997 Andy Katzenmoyer Ohio State
1996 Pat Fitzgerald Northwestern
1995 Simeon Rice Illinois
1994 Derrick Brooks Florida State
(tie) Dana Howard Illinois
1993 Trev Alberts Nebraska
1992 Marvis Jones Florida State
1991 Eric Anderson Michigan