Johnson and Hodge Named to Touchdown Club of Columbus 2018 Players to Watch List


COLUMBUS, OH – University at Buffalo football players Anthony Johnson and Khalil Hodge have been named to the Touchdown Club of Columbus 2018 Players to Watch List, the organization has announced. Johnson and Hodge are two of the 23 players on the list and will be honored in Columbus, OH on Saturday.

Johnson is one of four wide receivers honored. The senior to be is coming off one of the finest seasons by a wide receiver in school history. Johnson had 76 catches for 1,356 and a school-record 14 touchdowns in 2017. He led the MAC and ranked second in the nation in receiving yards per game (113.0). He had six games of 140 or more receiving yards which was also tops in the country. Johnson is the nation's returning leader in receiving yards and second in the nation in touchdowns.

Hodge is one of only two linebackers on the list. The senior to be built on his 123-tackle performance from 2016, by posting a MAC-best 154 stops in 2017 – the most tackles in school history by a UB player in the Bulls' FBS era. Hodge ranked second in the nation in tackles in 2017. He added 6.5 tackles for loss, three sacks, two interceptions and two forced fumbles.

Johnson and Hodge are the only players from the Mid-American Conference on the list.

The exclusive group of student athletes selected as TDC 2018 Players to Watch will be introduced during the 63rd Touchdown Club of Columbus Awards on Saturday, Feb. 17, 2018 at Express Live! in downtown Columbus, Ohio. Visit for additional information.

Touchdown Club of Columbus 2018 Players to Watch List

Player Pos. School
Khalil Hodge LB Buffalo
Anthony Johnson WR Buffalo
Jake Fromm QB Georgia
Kelly Bryant QB Clemson
Josh Jackson QB Virginia Tech
Ryan Finley QB North Carolina State
Ben Hicks QB SMU
Khalil Tate QB Arizona
Mason Fine QB North Texas
Elijah Sindelar QB Purdue
Justice Hill RB Oklahoma State
Devin Singletary RB Florida Atlantic
Benny Snell, Jr. RB Kentucky
Alexander Mattison RB Boise State
David Montgomery RB Iowa State
Darrell Henderson RB Memphis
David Sills V WR West Virginia
Gary Jennings WR West Virginia
Kelvin Harmon WR North Carolina State
Nick Bosa DL Ohio State
Tyler Clark DL Georgia
Azeez Al-Shaair LB Florida Atlantic
Jeffrey Okudah DB Ohio State