Shannon Evans Named To Kyle Macy Freshman All-America Team; Finalist For National Award

Shannon Evans Named To Kyle Macy Freshman All-America Team; Finalist For National Award

BUFFALO, NY - University at Buffalo point guard Shannon Evans was one of 25 freshmen nationally named a finalist for the Kyle Macy Award, given to the nation's top freshman.  Evans was the only player from the Mid-American Conference listed. The group of finalists also comprise the 2013-14 Kyle Macy Freshmen All-America team.

In his first season with the Bulls, Evans served as one of the top sixth men in the entire league, entering all 29 contests off the bench.  Evans finished tied for fourth on the team in scoring at 8.5 points per game and he was second on the team with 95 assists and third on the team with 40 steals.  Evans hit double figures in scoring nine times this season, including a career-high 20 points against Manhattan.  He also finished with 19 points in a road victory at Central Michigan and 17 points in a home win over Western Michigan.

Evans did just as much damage as a passer as he finished eighth in the league in assists.  Evans had a career-high eight assists in a win over Miami (OH) and had at least five assists on eight different occasions.

The Kyle Macy award is presented annually to the top freshman in Division I college basketball. The 1975 Indiana "Mr. Basketball" played his freshman season at Purdue University. Macy averaged 13.8 points a game as a freshman, while leading the Boilermakers in free throws, shooting .859 percent from the line on the season. He started in 25 of 27 games, helping them to a 16-11 season record.

After playing his freshman year at Purdue, Macy transferred to the University of Kentucky in 1976. He started every game for the Wildcats in 1977. A three-time All-America and three-time All-SEC player, Macy was a member of Kentucky's 1978 National Championship team. In his senior year of 1979-80, he became the first Kentucky player ever to be named consensus Southeastern Conference Player of the Year.

The winner of the 2014 Macy award will be announced at the Awards Banquet on April 4 in Dallas, site of the Division I Men's Basketball Championship.


DeAndre Bembry, Saint Joseph's

Myles Davis, Xavier

James Daniel, Howard

Rodney Elliott, UMBC

Joel Embiid, Kansas

Tyler Ennis, Syracuse

Shannon Evans, Buffalo

Kahlil Felder, Oakland

Aaron Gordon, Arizona

Khallid Hart, Marist

Vince Hunter, UTEP

Rysheed Jordan, St. John's

Tim Kempton, Lehigh

E.C. Matthews, Rhode Island

Jordan Mickey, LSU

Jabari Parker, Duke

London Perrantes, Virginia

Cameron Payne, Murray State

Bobby Portis, Arkansas

Julius Randle, Kentucky

Sindarius Thornwell, South Carolina

Noah Vonleh, Indiana

Paul Watson, Fresno State

Andrew Wiggins, Kansas

Marquis Wright, Siena