Massinburg And Perkins Earn Midseason National Honors

Perkins and Massinburg

BUFFALO, NY – Senior CJ Massinburg has been named to the midseason watch list for the Lute Olson Award, which is given to the nation's top player, while both Massinburg and senior Nick Perkins have been named to the midseason watch list for the Lou Henson Award, which is presented to the nation's top mid-major player.

Massinburg leads the nationally ranked and 14-1 Bulls in scoring as the Dallas, TX native is averaging 17.7 points per game, to go along with 6.5 rebounds per contest.  He had his break out game to the year at West Virginia, when he scored 43 points in the win over the Mountaineers.  Massinburg then added 25 points in the win over Syracuse at the Carrier Dome.

Massinburg is one of just three active players in the nation with over 1,600 career points, 600 career rebounds, and 250 career assists.  He is currently fifth on UB's all-time scoring list and has already been named the MAC East Player of the Week twice.

Perkins, the two-time MAC Sixth Man of the Year, has come off the bench in all 15 games for the Bulls and is averaging 13.9 points per game, while leading UB at 8.1 rebounds per contest.  He has scored 20 or more points four times this year, including a season high 22 points against San Francisco in the finals of the Belfast Hall of Fame Classic, where he was named the tournament MVP.  Perkins has also twice been named the MAC East Player of the Week.

The Ypsilanti, MI native is seventh on UB's all-time scoring list and his 703 rebounds are currently sixth all-time.  Perkins is just 46 points shy of joining Massinburg, as well as Yassin Idbihi and Javon McRea, as the only players in school history with over 1,500 points and 600 rebounds.

Both national awards will be presented at the College Insider awards event in April at the site of the men's Division I national championship in Minneapolis, MN.

Massinburg, Perkins, and the rest of the Bulls return to action on Saturday afternoon when UB hosts Miami (OH) at Alumni Arena.  Tipoff is at 12pm and the game will air nationally on CBS Sports Network.