Four Bulls Medal on Final Day of MAC Championships

Mitchell Moore

BUFFALO, NY – The University at Buffalo men's and women's track and field teams collected four medals on the final day of competition at the Mid-American Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships at UB Stadium on Saturday. One of the highlights of the day was the men's 400m hurdles where the Bulls took both the gold and the bronze.

Mitchell Moore ran a personal-best 51.98 to win gold in the 400m hurdles. He coasted to the victory as he beat out second place by nearly a full second. Chimaobi Ezeilo also ran a strong race to finish third. He also set a personal-best time of 53.37.

Selina Von Jackowski took the silver medal in the 100m hurdles with a time of 13.16. She broke her own school record of 13.52 set last year. She was just edged out for gold by Akron's Dara Perry who finished with a time of 13.10.

Sam Wray earned a silver medal in the men's discus with a throw of 164' 5".  Leon Atkins also earned a medal with a bronze in the men's 800m. The sophomore runner finished with a time of 1:52.99.

Miranda Daucher finished fourth in the women's discus with a throw of 49.86. Crystal Henderson also placed fourth in the women's triple jump with a personal-best leap of 40' 5.25".

Brandon Burke tied for fifth in the high jump, clearing a height of 6'7". He also took eighth place in the men's triple jump with a leap of 45' 5.25". It was his best jump of the season.

Martine Bye tied for fourth in the women's high jump. She cleared a height of 5' 4.25".

The men's relay team of Stephen George, Ray Anikwue, Mitchell Moore and Mitchell Fuller finished fifth in the 4x100 relay with a time of 42.22.

Caleb Covell ran a season-best time of 14:46.43 to finish sixth in the men's 5,000m.

Christopher Nowak placed seventh in the men's 1,500m with a time of 3:58.38.

In the final event of the meet, Chimaobi Ezeilo, Leon Atkins, Mitchell Fuller and Mitchell Moore finished fourth in the 4x400m relay with a season-best time of 3:14.26.

The women's team finished 11th overall with 34 points. The men's team finished sixth overall with 80.5 points. Akron was the women's team champion while Eastern Michigan won the men's title.