MAC Releases Final Weight Rankings of the Season

MAC Releases Final Weight Rankings of the Season

CLEVELAND, OH - The Mid-American Conference wrestling coaches announced the final February weight class individual rankings in conjunction with the league office today. Two Bulls rose in the final rankings, released in preparation for the upcoming MAC championships that begin March 5.

Sophomores Andrew Schutt and Mark Lewandowski made a jump in the rankings, with each wrestler moving to second at 141 and 157  pounds, respectively. Schutt recently returned from injury and scored a victory over Northern Illinois' Tristan DeShazer last Sunday. Lewandowski finished his undefeated MAC campaign with an upset win over Bryan Deutsch of Northern Illinois. The Depew, NY native comes in just behind Matt Cathell of Kent State, who went 4-0 in the MAC and did not face Lewandowski in conference action.

Junior Kevin Smith is the final Bull to earn a number two rank in the MAC, coming in just behind Central Michigan's Scotti Sentes, a wrestler who Smith lost to 10 days ago in a close 2-0 match. Smith led Buffalo in overall wins this season with 31, and has a chance to take his first MAC championship.

John-Martin Cannon and Jimmy Hamel are each ranked third at 165 and 184 pounds, respectively. Cannon has been coming on strong as of late, with a 6-1 record in his last seven matches and a 4-1 record in the MAC this season. Hamel finished conference play with a 3-2 record, but his 29 overall wins this season is second most on the team.

Last but certainly not least is junior Desi Green, who is the only Buffalo wrestler to come in at number one at their weight division. Green finished a perfect 5-0 in the MAC and will go in to the MAC championships looking to win his second straight individual championship at 149 pounds.

In the team ranks, Buffalo comes in fourth, behind co-regular season champions Kent State, Central Michigan and Ohio. The MAC championship tournament will begin at 1 pm March 5 and will be hosted by Northern Illinois.

2010-11 Season:

125 – 1. Nic Bedelyon (KSU); 2. Gabe Ramos (OU); 3. Christian Cullinan (CMU); 4. Nick Smith (NIU).

133 – 1. Scott Sentes (CMU); 2. Kevin Smith (UB); 3. Tyler Small (KSU); 4. Kevin Fanta (NIU).

141 – 1. Germane Lindsey (OU); 2. Andrew Schutt (UB); 3. Tristan DeShazer (NIU); 4. Scott Mattingly (CMU).

149 – 1. Desi Green (UB); 2. Donnie Corby (CMU); 3. Brad Squire (OU); 4. Marcel Clopton (KSU).

157 – 1. Matt Cathell (KSU); 2. Mark Lewandowski (UB); 3. Bryan Deutsch (NIU); 4. Casey Gordon (OU).

165 – 1. Mike Miller (CMU); 2. Ross Tice (KSU); 3. John-Martin Cannon (UB); 4. Nick Hendrick (EMU).

174 – 1. Nick Purdue (OU); 2. Ben Bennett (CMU); 3. B.J. Johnson (KSU); 4. Chris Eggert (EMU).

184 – 1. Casey Newburg (KSU); 2. Brad Dieckhaus (NIU); 3. Jimmy Hamel (UB); 4. Craig Kelliher (CMU).

197 –1. Dustin Kilgore (KSU); 2. Erik Schuth (OU); 3. Nick Whitenburg (EMU); 4. Chad Friend (CMU).

HWT – 1. Jared Trice (CMU); 2. Brendan Barlow (KSU); 3. Jeremy Johnson (OU); 4. David Wade (EMU).

2010-11 MAC Final Team Rankings 

1. Kent State (27)

2. Central Michigan (23)

3. Ohio (19)

4. Buffalo (17)

5. Northern Illinois (9)

6. Eastern Michigan (5)