Bulls Rally for 20-12 Win Over Eastern Michigan

Bulls Rally for 20-12 Win Over Eastern Michigan

BUFFALO, NY – Trailing, 12-0, in its match against Eastern Michigan, the University at Buffalo wrestling team rallied for a 20-12 victory at Alumni Arena on Friday night. The Bulls improved to 9-4 overall and have won eight of their last nine duals.

It didn't start out well for the Bulls as Eastern Michigan won each of the first four matches to take a 12-0 lead. Muhamed McBryde started the comeback with a 5-0 decision over Jacob Davis at 174 lbs.

But the real spark may have come from Brett Perry who was in a tight match with Kayne Maccallum that went into overtime tied, 1-1. Trailing 2-1 in the second overtime period, Perry earned a reversal just before the buzzer for the 3-2 victory.

James Benjamin continued the comeback with 4-2 decision over Derek Hillman to cut the Eastern Michigan advantage to 12-9.

Jake Gunning followed with one of his biggest wins of the season, knocking off #17 Gage Hutchison, 7-2. After a scoreless first period, Gunning earned a takedown and a 4-point near fall in the second to take control of the match.

With the match now tied at 12, it was Kyle Akins' turn to take down a ranked opponent. Akins jumped all over #17 Noah Gonser, 6-0, in the first period and held on for the 6-1 win to improve to a perfect 8-0 in duals on the year.

With the Bulls now leading, 15-12, Bryan Lantry left no doubt as the redshirt-sophomore completely dominated Sa'Derian Perry, earning a 25-4 technical fall.

"It's awesome!" head coach John Stutzman said. Our guys fought. We were down and we didn't come out popping. But we stepped up when we needed to."ac

The Bulls improved to 9-4 overall, securing their second straight winning season. It was UB's third MAC win of the year, tying its most since joining the conference.

Buffalo will be back home on Sunday afternoon when they host Central Michigan at Alumni Arena at 2 pm.

Buffalo 20, Eastern Michigan 12
141: Kyle Springer (EMU) won by decision over Jason Estevez (UB), 9-4
149: Nick Barber (EMU) won by decision over Colt Cotten (UB), 9-3
157: Zac Carson (EMU) won by decision over Alex Smythe (UB), 3-2
165: Devan Marry (EMU) won by decision over Tyler Rill (UB), 8-4
174: Muhamed McBryde (UB) won by decision over Jacob Davis (EMU), 5-0
184: Brett Perry (UB) won by sudden victory over Kayne Maccallum (EMU), SV2 3-2
197: James Benjamin (UB) won by decision over Derek Hillman (EMU), 4-2
285: Jake Gunning (UB) won by decision over #17 Gage Hutchison (EMU), 7-2
125: Kyle Akins (UB) won by decision over #17 Noah Gonser (EMU), 6-1
133: #19 Bryan Lantry (UB) won by tech fall over Sa'Derian Perry (EMU), 25-4