Bulls Rally, But Fall to Michigan State, 18-17

Bulls Rally, But Fall to Michigan State, 18-17

BUFFALO, NY – The University at Buffalo wrestling team rallied to win their last three matches to tie Michigan State, 17-17, but total points gave the Spartans the 18-17 victory at Alumni Arena on Friday night.

Bryan Lantry got the Bulls' first win with a major decision over Nathan Ellis at 133. His win gave Buffalo a 4-3 lead.

After 18th-ranked Javier Gasca answered with a major decision over Blake Retell, Jason Estevez earned a late takedown to win a 4-3 decision over Jwan Britton and tie the dual at 7.

The Spartans won the next three matches to take a commanding lead. However, in the third of their wins, Ryan Kromer proved to be a spark for the Bulls. The redshirt-junior, competing in his first dual in three seasons, went toe-to-toe with 18th-ranked Drew Hughes and earned a late takedown to tie the match. But a locked hands call in the final seconds cost Kromer a point and let Hughes escape with the win.

Trailing 17-8, Brett Perry started the comeback with a 5-3 decision over Shwan Shadaia. Joe Ariola followed with a 6-2 decision over Nick May to cut the Michigan State lead to 17-14.

Jake Gunning completed the comeback by beating Christian Rebottaro, 8-4, in the final match of the night. Tied at 17, the dual had to be decided by points. Unfortunately for the Bulls, Michigan State held a 63-58 advantage in total points and was awarded the deciding point.

"Heartbreaking loss," head coach John Stutzman said. "We lost because we didn't finish out matches and we didn't finish out periods. It wasn't anything other than being aware and finishing hard."

During halftime of Friday's dual, UB honored the 1978 Division III National Championship team.

The loss dropped Buffalo to 2-3 on the season. The Bulls will be back in action at Kent State on Sunday afternoon.

125 – Rayvon Foley (MSU) won by sudden victory over Kyle Akins (UB), 8-6
133 – #16 Bryan Lantry (UB) won by major decision over Nathan Ellis, 16-6
141 - #18 Javier Gasca (MSU) won by major decision over Blake Retell (UB), 10-1
149 – Jason Estevez (UB) won by decision over Jwan Britton (MSU), 4-3
157 – Jake Tucker (MSU) won my major decision over Kobe Garrehy (UB), 13-4
165 – Logan Ritchie (MSU) won by decision over Derek Holcomb (UB), 10-5
174 - #18 Drew Hughes (MSU) won by decision over Ryan Kromer (UB), 4-3
184 – Brett Perry (UB) won by decision over Shwan Shadaia (MSU), 5-3
197 – Joe Ariola (UB) won by decision over Nick May (MSU), 6-2
285 – #20 Jake Gunning (UB) won by decision over Christian Rebottaro (MSU), 8-4