Women’s Soccer Announces 2017 Schedule

Women’s Soccer Announces 2017 Schedule

BUFFALO, NY – Fourth-year head women's soccer coach Shawn Burke announced the Bulls' 2017 schedule on Thursday morning. The 20-game schedule is highlighted by a trip to Big Ten member Ohio State and will feature nine home matches at UB Stadium.

"As we continue to grow our program, we want to continue to play top tier teams to prepare us for MAC play as well as November," stated head coach Shawn Burke. "We are looking forward to watching our players step up this fall against some of the best teams in the region."

The fall schedule opens with a pair of exhibition matches as the Bulls will welcome Cleveland State to Buffalo on August 9 before heading to Big 4 foe Niagara on Sunday, August 13.

The Bulls will open up their regular season slate with three straight road matches as they head to American Athletic Conference member Cincinnati for their 2017 season opener on Friday, August 18. The Bulls will then travel to Columbus, Ohio to take on the Ohio State Buckeyes on Saturday, August 26 before wrapping up their three-game road trip with a game against local rival Canisius on Tuesday, August 29.

Buffalo will return to their home field for their next three matches as they welcome the Youngstown State Penguins on Sunday, September 3 for their home opener. The Cornell Big Red will travel to UB Stadium on Friday, September 8 before the Bulls wrap up their three-game home swing with a match against Fairleigh Dickinson on Sunday, September 10.

UB will wrap up their non-conference slate on the road on Friday, September 15 as they head to Big 4 foe St. Bonaventure.

The grueling MAC portion of the Bulls schedule opens up with a pair of home matches at UB Stadium as Western Michigan comes to town on Friday, September 22. Buffalo will then welcome the Northern Illinois Huskies, a team that made the MAC Championship game last season, to UB Stadium on Sunday, September 24.

The next three MAC matches will all take place on the road as the Bulls head to Ypsilanti, MI to take on Eastern Michigan on September 29. As the calendar flips to October, the Bulls will head to Central Michigan on Sunday, October 1 before closing out the road trip in Athens, Ohio against the Ohio Bobcats on October 5.

UB will welcome the defending MAC tournament champions Kent State to UB Stadium on October 8 before a weekend road trip to Bowling Green on Friday, October 13 and Toledo on Sunday, October 15.

The home slate comes to a close with a pair of matches starting with Ball State on home turf on Thursday, October 19 and finishing with the Miami (OH) RedHawks on Sunday, October 22. The regular season will then come to a close on Thursday, October 26 as the Bulls travel to the Akron Zips.

The Bulls will look to secure a spot in the coveted top-eight to secure their fifth straight trip to the MAC Tournament. The 2017 MAC Tournament will begin on October 29 with the quarterfinals followed by the semifinals on November 3 and the finals on November 5. The semifinals and finals will take place at the highest seed remaining following the quarterfinal round.